Arnold August
Arnold August

Arnold August est titulaire d’une maîtrise en sciences politiques de l’Université McGill, à Montréal (1970). Du milieu des années 1970 à 1994, il a été chercheur et activiste syndical et politique.

L’auteur montréalais, journaliste et conférencier, a écrit Democracy in Cuba and the 1997–98 Elections (Editorial José Martí, La Havane, 1999).

En 2013, son second livre, Cuba and Its Neighbours: Democracy in Motion, a été publié en coédition anglaise chez Zed Books (R.-U.) et Fernwood Publishing (Canada), et distribué aux États-Unis par les Presses de l’Université de Chicago (University of Chicago Press). Les pays étudiés sont d’une part le Venezuela, la Bolivie, l’Équateur et Cuba et, d’autre part, les États-Unis, avec la démocratie participative comme fil conducteur.

Il a été commenté dans les médias suivants : International Journal of Cuban Studies (R.-U.), European Review of Latin American and Caribbean Studies (Pays-Bas), sur le site Web de la Monthly Review MR Online (É.-U.), Green Left Weekly (Australie), Cubadebate (Cuba), Radio Habana Cuba (Cuba), CounterPunch (É.-U.). Le livre a été salué par des universitaires et des activistes au Canada, à Cuba, au Royaume-Uni et aux États-Unis.

En 2014, la version espagnole a été publiée à Cuba par Ciencias Sociales.

Une version coréenne est parue en 2015 chez un éditeur sud-coréen.

Son troisième livre, publié par Fernwood Publishing, s’intitule Cuba–U.S. Relations: Obama and Beyond (mai 2017). Il devrait paraître dans une version espagnole cubaine en février 2018.

Son travail sur Cuba est fondé sur ses séjours prolongés et ses recherches sur l’Île depuis 1997.

Depuis 1999, à partir des thèmes de ses livres publiés en anglais, il présente des exposés et donne des conférences dans les universités aux États-Unis, au Canada, en Europe, à Cuba et à Porto Rico. Il est membre de l’Association des études latino-américaines (LASA, basée aux É.-U.), de l’Association canadienne des études latino-américaines et des Caraïbes (ACELAC), du Cuba Research Forum de l’Université de Nottingham (R.-U.) et du Réseau des intellectuels, des artistes et des mouvements sociaux en défense de l’humanité, basé à Caracas.

En 2013, il a reçu le prix Félix Elmuza, la  plus haute distinction de journalisme de Cuba, décerné par l’Association des journalistes cubains.

Entre 2008 et avril 2017, à titre d’opposant à l’actuelle désinformation médiatique sur les affaires courantes, il a rédigé plus de 70 articles sur Cuba, le Venezuela, le Honduras et le nouveau mouvement d’intégration régionale. Ces articles ont été publiés sur de nombreux sites Web dans le monde, en anglais et en espagnol, et sur quelques-uns en français. Au cours de cette période, il a été interviewé dans des douzaines d’émissions radio et télé aux États-Unis, au Canada et au Venezuela.

For Arnold August's English bio, click here.

Para la acerca de Arnold August en español, haga click aquí.

Arnold August

Arnold August holds a master’s degree in political science from McGill University, Montreal (1970). From the mid-1970s to 1994, he worked as a researcher, and political and trade union activist.

The Montreal-based author, journalist and lecturer wrote Democracy in Cuba and the 1997–98 Elections (Editorial José Martí, Havana, 1999).

In 2013, his next book, Cuba and Its Neighbours: Democracy in Motion,was co-published in English by Zed Books (U.K.) and Fernwood Publishing (Canada), and distributed in the U.S. by the University of Chicago Press. The countries under consideration are Venezuela, Bolivia, Ecuador and Cuba, on the one hand, and the U.S., on the other, with the common thread of participatory democracy.

It was reviewed in the following: International Journal of Cuban Studies (U.K.), European Review of Latin American and Caribbean Studies (Netherlands), Monthly Review’s MR Online (U.S.), Green Left Weekly (Australia), CubaDebate (Cuba), Radio Habana Cuba (Cuba), CounterPunch (U.S.). Praise for the book came from academics and activists in Canada, Cuba, the U.K. and the U.S.

In 2014, the Spanish version was published in Cuba by Ciencias Sociales.

A Korean version was released in 2015 by a progressive South Korean publisher.

His third book on Cuba, published by Fernwood Publishing, is entitled Cuba–U.S. Relations: Obama and Beyond (April 2017). It has been published in a Cuban Spanish-language version in April 2018.

His work on Cuba is based on his extensive stays and research on the island since 1997.

Since 1999, based on his books published in English, he has given conferences and lectures at universities in the U.S., Canada, Europe, Cuba and Puerto Rico. He is a member of the Latin American Studies Association (LASA, based in the U.S.), the Canadian Association for Latin American and Caribbean Studies (CALACS), the Cuba Research Forum at the University of Nottingham (U.K.) and the Network of Intellectuals and Artists in Defense of Humanity based in Caracas.

Since 2016 he is being invited to give conferences, talks and key note addresses in Cuban Universities. These invitations have increased since 2017/18. For example:

“Fidel, el poder político y la nueva cultura”
Por Arnold August
Presentación realizada en el Panel “Fidel, constructor de la nueva sociedad” del Coloquio Fidel, política y cultura en la Feria Internacional del Libro, La Habana, 5 de febrero del 2016.

Conferencia sobre Pensamiento y obra de Fidel Castro Ruz.
II Simposio Internacional LA REVOLUCIÓN CUBANA: Génesis y desarrollo histórico,
Palacio de Convenciones, La Habana, Cuba
Jueves 26 de octubre de 2017.
"Fidel Castro Ruz: Memoria viva para el presente y el futuro."
Por M.Sc. Arnold August, Canadá

Conferencia Magistral,
Por Arnold August, Canadá.
En el XIII Encuentro Internacional de Estudios Políticos y Sociales, Universidad de La Habana, 23 de marzo del 2018. “El proyecto alternativo de la Revolución cubana resistiendo la corriente ideológico-política del pensamiento único estadounidense.”

In 2013, he received the Félix Elmuza Award for outstanding journalism from the Association of Cuban Journalists.

Between 2008 and 2018, as part of the opposition to ongoing media disinformation on current affairs, he wrote more than 70 articles on Cuba, Venezuela, Honduras and the new regional integration movement. These articles were published on many websites around the world in both English and Spanish as well as some in French. During this time, he was interviewed on dozens of radio and television programs in the U.S., Canada and Venezuela.

In 2017-18 he has been carrying out book tours for his CUBA-U.S. publication in North America and the UK. For photos/reports of these events see above Current Photos/Reports (2017 to date) and Archive of Pictures (1997-2016).

Para la biografía de Arnold August en español, haga click aquí.

Pour la biographie d'Arnold August en français, cliquez ici.